My Personal Story

Heart health is something that is very important to me.  I was born with a very rare congenital heart defect.  I was born with a large hole in my heart called a VSD that was complicated by a Straddling Tricuspid Valve.  When I was four months old it was repaired.  Today, my heart is functioning perfectly without problems.  Without the research funded by the American Heart Association, I would not be here today.  As a result, raising awareness for heart health is something that is very important to me.Ventricular-Septal-Defect-Image

Heart health is something I hope that everyone finds important.  Ever since I learned the details about my surgery I’ve wanted to live a healthy life.  This is obviously something that is not always possible, especially living on a college campus.  I find the best thing that I can do here to live a heart healthy is eat healthy and exercise regularly.  I hope that with this blog I can help to promote living a heart healthy life while sharing some personal experiences about heart health.

Almost twenty-one years after my surgery I am complication and restriction free.  I am free to do whatever I want.  Every few years I have to go see my cardiologist for a checkup.  This is just a precaution.  The best advice I can give anyone is to take precautions.  The majority of heart diseases are preventable.  You can do your part to live a heart healthy life.

2 comments on “My Personal Story

  1. […] me and asked me why I have the AHA’s logo on my car.  Over the next several minutes I explained my story and my connection to the AHA.  As I explained my story and why I race with the American Heart […]

  2. […] out, he was also born with a similar heart condition to me.  To read more about my story click here.  This student told me that he heard about my blog through another student and wanted to let me […]

Leave a comment